Select Page
Spiritual and Earthly Love Languages
Published on: February 20, 2023

I’m sure a lot of you have heard the question asked, “what is your love language?” 5 examples are listed below.

1. Quality Time – your heart leaps when your person sets aside and spends special time with you. The quality, not the quantity, counts.

2. Tasks – you love it when a meal is cooked or the house is cleaned.

3. Physical Touch – a warm hug sends you over the moon

4. Words of Appreciation – thoughtful kind words increase your heart rate.

5. Gifts – you feel great warmth when you get a present.

None of these are “better” than the other. They are preferences established through relationship with others. The overall theme is to recognize yours and others, speak to others through their love language and grow to appreciate all of them as legitimate expressions of love.

“Jesus’s love language is obedience.” This hit me as I listened to Kevin Zadai last night. He says such simple things but they are Word-backed and profound. They bridge the gap in my understanding, have great impact and change my heart. He’s got a power-packed and prolific utube channel. In the book of  James, the Apostle said, “show me your works,” in chapter 2 verse 17. “So also faith, if it does not have works (deeds and actions of obedience to back it up), by itself is destitute of power (inoperative, dead). AMP

On the earth, obedience is not listed as a love language. See how different God’s kingdom is? I do not discount deep feelings of warmth, appreciation and affection for the Master and I feel His pulsing Presence lift me higher in passion more and more these days. But we must show Him we mean it by doing something for someone else. “Give a cup of cold water in My Name,” He said.

Do something special for another human being every day. For some of you, this may be an established practice! Hooray!  As we take care of others on the planet, Jesus takes care of us.

Shalom Shalom!